Big Bad Reviews
DVD Review: Logan's Run (1976) PDF Print E-mail
Written by Mystery Date   
Thursday, 11 August 2011 02:00

logan-s-run-original logan-s-run-original(We have a new reviewer this week, and he's done such an amazing job, I think he'll be doing all the reviews in the future. Then I can go back to early retirement. Catch up on episodes of Route 66 on RetroTV... Please welcome "Mystery Date" to Big Bad Drive-In!)

When I was in the third grade I had a Logan’s Run button that occupied roughly half of my torso when I wore it. It was just a picture of Farrah’s head in all its blonde-locked 70’s glory, and reports vary on whether I ever tried to make out with the button.

We start with some expository text telling us that what is left of humanity now lives in a domed city solely for pleasure, freed by the servo-mechanisms which provide everything. I don’t know what servo-mechanisms are, but I pray to God they’re monkey butlers. The catch is that you’re killed and eaten by the monkey butlers when you turn 30. Or something about Carousel, what am I, the narrator?

Last Updated on Tuesday, 23 August 2011 21:57
 
Blu-Ray Review: Machete (2010) PDF Print E-mail
Written by The Projectionist   
Sunday, 07 August 2011 17:56

Machete-Poster-4 Machete-Poster-4"Machete! This time they messed with the wrong Mexican!"

I went down to my local torta shop here in Phoenix: "Los Reyes De La Torta" for a delicious "Torta Del Rey" to get in the mood for this review. Seeing the blood and decapitations made me think maybe that was a bad idea. But, with my trusty notebook, pen, and a little Alka Seltzer we made it through.

Machete is a homage to 70s action films. In the seventies it would have been a blaxploitation film. With the Hispanic hero and numerous hot Latinas, I would guess this would be termed a "Mexploitation" or a "Hispaploitation" film? I'm a life long fan of Blaxploitation films, now I'm a fan of this exploitation genre too.

The film is an expanded version of a trailer director Robert Rodriguez shot for inclusion in the "Grindhouse" experience he and Quentin Tarantino wanted to give with their double-features "Planet Terror" and "Death Proof". The Machete "trailer" played along with other "coming attractions" before and between the two "Main features"

Last Updated on Tuesday, 23 August 2011 21:57
 
DVD Review: Switchblade Sisters (1975) PDF Print E-mail
Written by The Projectionist   
Monday, 25 July 2011 19:41

Switchblade_Sisters_Poster Switchblade_Sisters_PosterSwitchblade Sisters was a 1975 Chixploitation movie that didn't do well during its initial release. It went into the drive-ins and grindhouses for a week, sold some popcorn, and immediately went on the 2nd and 3rd feature circuit. One person who didn't overlook it was Quentin Tarantino. Tarantino is on record as saying Switchblade Sisters is one of his all time favorite movies. He grabbed the rights to the movie and re-released it to the theaters in limited distribution a few years back. He has also released it on DVD on his "Rolling Thunder Pictures" label. The DVD reviewed here is the "Rolling Thunder" release.

lace lace

The Switchblade Sisters revolves around "The Dagger Debs" an all-girl gang led with teeth baring intensity by "Lace" (Robbie Lee), the baddest meanest female gang leader since Black Canary was in charge of the Justice League. It's a good thing she's tough, because she dresses like a disco band reject, and when she bears her teeth she looks like an angry beaver, plus when she talks it's like being threatened by Rainbow Brite talking through clenched teeth.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 02 August 2011 18:27
 
DVD Review: Big Bad Mama II PDF Print E-mail
Written by The Projectionist   
Monday, 18 July 2011 14:06

BBMII_Poster BBMII_PosterI can hear it now, "Oh my God! Are they only going to review movies with 'Big Bad' in the title?" Nah, I just wanted to get the 2 most obvious candidates for reviews out of the way right at the beginning.

Big Bad Mama II is obviously a sequel to Big Bad Mama. Even though it would seem to be difficult to do a sequel when the main character, (Mama) dies at the end of the first movie. BBMII has always struck me as an "parallel universe" version of BBM. (For those of you not familiar with the concept of parallel universes, feel free to familiarize yourself here. Understand the concept now? Good, let's continue.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 02 August 2011 18:28
 
More Articles...
«StartPrev123456NextEnd»

Page 5 of 6
Free joomla templates created by Lonex.

Follow Us on Twitter

Twitter Image

Like Us on Facebook

Big Bad Plea

If you've enjoyed our site, How about buying us some popcorn? Thank you for your donation.

Amount: